This route offers a unique opportunity to cross the Ural mountains twice and see the changing features of geology in different structural-tectonic zones: from the East European platform, the depression areas of the Pre-Ural foredeep, the Western Ural folding system, through the Main Uralian fault, the Central Urals mega synclinorium and the Tagil's
synclinorium, the Tagilo-Magnitogorsk mega synclinorium.
The main stops along the route are the places of discovery of the first oil in the Volga-Ural oil
and gas province, the first diamond deposit, the first ore and alluvial gold, the oldest iron ore and copper ore deposits.
The Europe-Asia Border
The history of scientific confirmation of the border between Europe and Asia on the Ural watershed accounts for at least 300 years. The merit belongs to Vasily Tatishchev, a prominent statesman, famous historian and encyclopedist, the first researcher of the Urals and one of the founders of Yekaterinburg and Perm.
Berezovsky, Museum of Gold and Platinum
The first gold placer was found in Russia on the territory of the town of Berezovsky. This provided Russia with advanced positions in gold mining in the second half of the 19th century. It is the birthplace of all the subsequent "gold fevers" in the world from California and Alaska to Australia.
The Museum has the collection of some authentic equipment and tools used for gold mining: cradle, paddles, bucket, etc. One of the displays depicts the underground city under the modern town of Berezovsky, where the depth of the mines is about 700-800 m.
The Museum-mine is a kind of an interactive attraction dedicated to gold mining in Berezovsky. There are workshops, a forge and a stone cutter, as well as the first Russian workshop for washing gold on both the Siberian and the American trays. A tour “Mine is a whole mountain adventure” presents unforgettable legends and can take on a role of a miner. Here you can see the layout of the miner’s dwelling, mine lights, amethyst druses and other minerals that were found at the Berezovsky deposit.
Geological Museum of the Ural State Mining University
The Museum shows the Ural ores minerals.
Placers of sparkling facets of gems and artistic creations of ornamental stone demonstrate both inexhaustible imagination of nature in its eternal work to create unique colors and beautiful forms, and rare, true art of stone cutters, grinders and jewelers who created the Urals bright glory.
A tour to Yekaterinburg with a visit to an observation deck of the business center "Vysotsky". The skyscraper.
The open observation deck is located on the fifty-second floor-at an altitude of 186 m. From this point you can see a truly fantastic view: the panorama of Yekaterinburg stretches for twenty-five kilometers.
The Nevyansk Leaning Tower of the Demidovs
The Nevyansk Tower is the most famous architectural monument of the Ural region, often called the Russian leaning tower. The tower is a symbol of the city and is very popular place among tourists. It was built more than three centuries ago. The height of the tower is 57.5 m. witha square with base of 9.5 m side. The deviation of the tower from the vertical is about 1.85 m at the top point, the greatest angle of inclination is observed at the lower tier.
Nizhny Tagil, the Demidov’s Museum-Plant
It is devoted to the discovery of copper and iron in the Urals. Copper ore was found in the area of High Mountain in 1696, and on the banks of the river Vyi in 1702. Under the Decree of Peter I ironworks plants for the production of iron, iron and copper were set up. In Nizhny Tagil, You will visit the Nizhny Tagil Museum-reserve "Mining Ural", founded in 1725 by the Demidovs. It was an operating iron-smelting and iron-making plant until 1987 and after 1917, it was named as Nizhny Tagil Metallurgical Combinat after V.I. Lenin. Today it is the unique Museum-plant of the history of ferrous metallurgy. The plant has preserved the layout of the existing enterprise, buildings and equipment of the XIX-XX centuries. It demonstrates the development of metallurgical technologies and improvement of the energy system.
Nizhny Tagil, the Main quarry of the Vysokogorsky mining and processing plant
The Main quarry of the Vysokogorsky mining and processing plant, a viewing platform. On the observation deck you can see the process of reclamation of the main quarry, which has been laid by the tailings of enrichment since 1995. Iron ore in the Main quarry was mined for almost 270 years. At the time of its conservation, the volume of produced space was 72 million cubic meters. The depth in the middle of the "bowl" quarry is 270 m with the area of 78 hectares. Now it is filled by more than a third. The uniqueness of this decision is that below, under the quarry, there are the mined-out horizons of the mine "Magnetite". A number of scientific and engineering solutions were introduced to protect the existing production. The pulp enters the "warehouse" by gravity through a system of slurry pipelines, passing a distance of 1.2 km. Technical remediation of the Main quarry is expected to last until 2030, after which biological remediation will be applyed
The settlement Promysla
There is a monument to the first diamond that has been discovered in Europe. The concept of "Russian diamond" until the middle of the XX century in the world was strongly associated with the Urals. The first diamond in Russia (and in Europe) was found on 4th July in 1829 on the Western slope of the Urals, in the Perm province, in the basin of the Koiva river near the Krestovozdvizhensky gold crafts (now the settlement of Promysla). The bulk of diamonds (more than 250 crystals), found before the revolution, was mined at the gold placers tributaries of the Koiva. The largest of them weighed 2.93 carats. In 1955, prospecting and exploration works in the Urals were carried out in much smaller volumes after opening the kimberlite pipes of Yakutia. The Ural diamond-bearing province stretches along the Western slope of the Urals for a distance of more than 1,000 km. Placers are mainly of the Paleogene-Neogene-Quaternary age, but the diamonds were also found in more ancient deposits of the Devonian and Silurian ages. The ancient placers are represented by sandstones, gravelites and conglomerates, the modern ones – by loose sands and pebbles. The core sources of Ural diamonds have not been found yet, despite numerous claims about their discovery in Perm krai and Bashkiria.
There is a stele about the discovery of oil. When contouring potash deposits P. I. Preobrazhensky mounted oil-bearing and industrial value of 20 oil well ("Grandma") near Verhnechusovskie Gorodki. Specialists from Grozny and Baku, the advanced oil regions of the country, arrived to explore the field. The Perm reef with the top of the head, soaked with oil was found with the oil wells. The monument is presented in the form of a stele, which stands on the lapel in Verkhnechusovskie Gorodki. The stele is crowned with a drop of the "black gold". The very first well No. 20, produced the first oil of the Western Urals in 1929, is depicted on the column itself.
The price for this tour is €520 per attendee. It includes dining, excursions fees, transportation and accomodation in hotels.